Jerwood Library Who’s Who: Walter Cardew

Tell us a bit about yourself and your role in the Jerwood Library

My name is Walter Cardew and I’m the Senior Library Assistant in the library. I work part-time and I’m usually here on Tuesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. I work at the library counter; I’m also responsible for arranging loans from and to other libraries (Inter Library Loans) and for sending music for binding. I deal with the library’s cash income and help sort through various donations that get made to the library.

What is a typical day like for you?

Like the other library assistants I’m timetabled for certain hours at the library counter. The rest of the time I’m in the library office.

Working at the counter involves helping users with enquiries, issuing items and taking returns. At quiet times I issue invoices for very overdue or lost items, find replacement prices for items on the catalogue that have none, research Inter Library Loans, chase up journals that haven’t arrived and other various tasks that emerge from time to time. I normally open and close the library due to the hours I’m here.

Are there any hidden or little-known aspects of your work you’d like to share?

The library has an archive which has some collections that are held locked away in the rolling stacks. Occasionally myself and the other library assistants are involved in sorting/listing collections which can be very interesting. Recently I went through a collection which included the scores used in recording sessions for film sound tracks. Many had the conductor’s markings which can be very interesting to see.

What do you enjoy most about your role?

The interaction with the library users is – on the whole – enjoyable. Most of the students are very friendly and polite and I share an interest in music with them. I also work on Saturdays for the Junior Dept and have enjoyed seeing the children grow up and sometimes progress right through to adulthood in the senior college.

Leave a comment

